Blogging + College = ???: My Absence and Skye

(Caidyn)

I know, I know. I haven’t been doing this weekly thing but, alas, there is not enough time for commitments I have. Even as I write this, I should be studying for a couple midterms I have on Tuesday and don’t even get me started on grad school stuff that I have.

So, needless to say, I’ve been absent not because I want to, but because I just haven’t had the time. I’ll catch up soon with looking through everyone’s blogs and all those things, but it’ll take me time.

My big point for this is that I haven’t really discussed the animals I have. Posts bring up “furbabies” so much and I just don’t address that thing too often. Chantel has Watson. I have Blue. And I once had Skye.

Seven months ago, actually to the day, my furbaby passed away very unexpectedly. I just remember being so distressed that night that I probably made no sense. Chantel had to put up with a lot of my ramblings that night, but she was such a good friend and listened to me during my shock. The next day, we discovered that Blue has terminal cancer. Actually, this is the length of time they predicted he would be with us, but he’s still going strong.

Skye, though, was my little girl. I always refer to her as my fat baby princess since she was fat, a big baby, and a princess.

My profile on Goodreads is actually of the two of us.

IMG_20170418_210421

She loved to nestle in under my chin and just make herself known. Actually, she’s the only creature that I’ve allowed to do this since I’m not a big touchy-feely person. Hugs are the bane of my existence. But, she loved to cuddle with me and I loved cuddling with her.

One of my favorite memories has to do with this picture:

20151016_191239.jpg

That is her. That is my bed. We live across the street from the high school I graduated from and it’s a big football town. They shoot off fireworks just about every game. So, she sought shelter in my room. I got her up on my bed after laying down a towel and wrapped a blanket around her later, then I turned on my heated slipcover and read Tolkien to her and she passed out, much like I would.

In fact, my bedroom or close to it was her favorite spot in the world.

But, she was my little shit. And, I do miss her.

So, here’s to you Skye. You’ll always be remembered.

Snapchat-3620144003967346746

9 thoughts on “Blogging + College = ???: My Absence and Skye

  1. Aw, it sounds like Skye was a lovely dog, Caidyn. I’m still sorry about her passing, but it sounds like she had a wonderful life with you and your family. This is a very sweet way to remember her. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those pictures are absolutely adorable. I didn’t realize it had been seven months already, but I thought your post was very sweet and beautiful. Pets are very important and even though Watson is a little shit, he’s my world.

    – Chantel

    Like

Leave a comment