We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe by Jorge Chom and Daniel Whiteson

We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe

(Caidyn)

2.5/5

The reason I picked this book up was because it reminded me of A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. That book was about the known universe and the scientists behind it. Literally, chock full of hilarious anecdotes about the scientists who created/discovered things that was presented in an easy and humorous way. However, this book is about what we don’t know. About how the more answers we have, the more questions crop up and the more that we realize we have no clue. The authors of this repeatedly emphasized that we know, about, 5% of the universe. That’s it.

So, as I said, this book is meant to be humorous. Well, it is. Definitely is. There were times that I smiled or snorted about something that they said. It was brilliantly adapted, too. Since I listened to this book, I can review only that. But, I know that this book was highly visual and probably completely full of comics. It brought some of those aspects into it with sound effects.

However (shouldn’t you expect that from me?) I found it grating after a while. The jokes were all the same, one of the things that I dislike most about books categorized as humor. I get tired of the same jokes over and over again. Usually, I try putting those books down for a bit then trying again only to find the humor still annoys me. That was the problem with this book for me. It expected itself to be funny when I simply didn’t find it to be after a while.

As for the content, it was super interesting. Black holes, dark matter, energy, gravity. Typically, I always sign myself up for books like that. But, the humor distracted me. When the authors really buckled down and didn’t explain things with humor, I paid so much attention to it. If there was humor, I just spaced out.

This book definitely has a good premise, but a bad carry out.

Leave a Reply

