Unpopular Opinion Book Tag!

Hello, everyone! We were tagged to do the Unpopular Opinion Book Tag by Emma over at Thoughts of a Brown Eyed Girl. The original tag was done by TheBookArcher on YouTube if you want to go check that out. We thought it would be fun if we did the tag as well and get some of our unpopular opinions out there. There are bound to be some that are truly unpopular.

Chantel’s answers will be in purple. 

Caidyn’s answers will be in green.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

As much as I hate to say it, A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab. The first book was okay, but I ended up DNF-ing A Gathering of Shadows because it was rather dull. I wanted to like the series so much, but I know I’m probably in the minority here. I mean, I liked Prince Rhy, but that’s about it. 

I honestly have to agree with Chantel about her answer. But, I also really don’t like Divergent. Or Hunger Games. Or that Grisha trilogy when I tried it that one night. Okay, let’s face it, every YA series that’s out there, I usually have a bone to pick with. OH. John Green. I hate that man’s books with a vengeance.

2. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

Honestly, I didn’t do a lot of research here. I don’t think I’ve read a lot of unpopular books or series, that being said Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst has a lot of low star ratings on the main page of Goodreads, so I’m going to put that there. I had a lot of fun with this book and want to see more queer fantasy in my life.

Hm… I don’t know. This is hard. I think that most people seem to not like and/or not get American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I absolutely love it. Sure, it has a lot of flaws that I would completely agree with, but I think it’s so masterfully crafted that I can’t see those flaws taking anything away from it.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

[ENDGAME SPOILERS FOR HARRY POTTER AND HUNGER GAMES]

I don’t think it’s unpopular to say I don’t like love triangles at all, but I wasn’t a fan of how everyone was paired up at the end of Harry Potter. I would’ve liked some queer pairings in the mix, but I was never a huge Harry/Ginny fan or Ron/Hermione fan. 

I hate you, Chantel. Stop taking my answers. So, I agree with her, obviously, about her answer. But I also super hate the crap that was pulled in The Hunger Games. (Okay, never read the whole series but I let my friends spoil me for it so I know how it all ends.) But I hated that. I’m sure there are many others, but Chantel took my original answer and I’m left on the spot.

What can I say, I usually like the couples authors choose. Except for Ms. Rowling that is. Also, The Hunger Games sucks. 

I had to read the book for eighth grade honors English when I was in school. We also read The Giver, Anthem, And Then There Were None, and parts of the Bible (no joke, my teacher was a Christian freak) for it. I had weird school days. ANYWAYS, we had to read it in a group and I read Catching Fire and thought it sucked.

I read the whole series on my own. The shame is real. 

What?? Why? I got so bored after Catching Fire that I lied to my friend and said I had read it all then pretended like I had while she told me everything.

Because it was popular. I didn’t dislike the series until Mockingjay, but I have no interest in going back and reading them. 

[END OF SPOILERS AND HATE]

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

The book genre I never reach for is horror. I don’t like being scared. 

YA. Sorry. I just typically don’t automatically reach for it. I don’t typically seek it out, but I do read it. Usually, I just end up pissed off at everything. I love horror, Chantel, so how dare you. Dishonor on you, your family, and your cow.

And I love YA, so take your Mulan quote and shove it. 

I will never ever shove it.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I find it hard to come up with a character I don’t like. I think I’ll go with Draco Malfoy. I never really got behind his redemption arc. Is it bad to say that I don’t like Katniss Everdeen too?

Okay, I disagree with you Chantel, but oh well. We have to disagree on something, I guess. But I totally get you on Katniss. Uhm… Snape. I fucking hate that man and anyone who tries to tell me how good he is, I find them a little insane. I will respectfully disagree. But, I also dislike Ron Weasley. Sorry.

*whispers* I don’t like Ron either. 

OMG, WE ARE IN THE SAME DISLIKE BOAT THIS IS GREAT. And I will never get over that Vice article I read and sent you screenshots of the whole thing about Snape really being a transwoman. 

I want to like Ron, but I just don’t. I’m still in disbelief over that article. I don’t know whether to laugh or shake my head. 

I totally get the psychology of why he did things and his emotions, but I still don’t like him. Also, for those of you reading and have no clue what we’re on about with Snape, this is the article we’re referencing. I don’t get the theory at all. And I’m trans.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Usually, when I don’t like a book by an author I want to give them another chance. I haven’t liked books by V.E/Victoria Schwab, Adam Silvera, and John Green but I’ll give them another chance. 

John Green, too. I will never give him a second chance so whoops. I just really hate his stuff. He’s so crap. Sorry, teenagers don’t actually talk like that. I have never met a single teenager that does. They may say stuff like that in their head, but out loud? And get made fun of??? Nope. I also didn’t like Leigh Bardugo but I’d give her a second chance.

Well, this is awkward.

When isn’t it for us?

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Love Triangles. Love Triangles. Have I mentioned love triangles? I also really don’t like that any characters that can be attracted to each other will be attracted to each other. That’s not real life, yo. It’s okay if they stay friends. 

LOVE TRIANGLES 100%. Also, love triangles in YA dystopians. Like, okay, I get it. You’re a teenager and you think with your hormones. I get that. You do. However, you’re so stressed and shit that you’re not going to care about things like that.

Yeah, Katniss.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. It’s way too long and I’ve heard there are problematic elements, so I’m gonna pass. 

Same with Sarah J. Maas. I’m going to stay away from her forever, no matter what series it is. Also, Leigh Bardugo. I don’t really want to read her books. I only read 5-10% of the first in the Grisha trilogy, but it was just so bad. Plus, after the travesty of my experience with Schwab and literally everyone I’m friends with telling me that the plot and characters are awesome when they weren’t (for me), I’m hesitant.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Ultimately, I enjoyed watching Wild more than reading the book by Cheryl Strayed. Also, everyone is going to say Game of Thrones

Hannibal hands down. Bryan Fuller is King of Adaptations. (For Hannibal and American Gods, but the latter actually compliments the book.) He turned a book that had flat plots and boring, male dominated characters into a dynamic, highly symbolic, super gay, show with tons of female characters since he gender bent some.

That’s such a good answer because I totally forgot about Hannibal.

10 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion Book Tag!

  1. Snape being a trans woman?? WELL, that’s a first…

    Is it mean if I find that super hilarious??? I just keep envisioning Alan Rickman (rip <3) in colorful granny's clothes, like in that one book when Neville Longbottom defeated the Boggart. I CAN'T STOP LAUGHING.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

