Girl in Snow by Danya Kukafka

Girl in Snow

(Caidyn)

DNF at 15%
1/5

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Netgalley and Simon & Schuster.

My personal rule is to stop reading a book I don’t like at 15% if I’m not sure about it. This book was no different for me.

While the writing was purely gorgeous and I think that the characters were interesting, I couldn’t stomach the way it was told. Three POVs that may or may not link together — I’ll never be sure if they do and that’s fine by me — and span from Cameron, a boy obsessed with the murder victim; Jade, a girl who is just an angry teenager; and Russ, a police officer assigned to the case.

I found none of them interesting. Cameron was, admittedly, the most interesting. He was a stalker and the biggest candidate for being the murderer. He also just struck me wrong. I don’t care that he’s watching people? Just stop it. Jade annoyed me the most. Holy hell. Just picture a model from Hot Topic and the attitude you had as a teen and that’s her character. That’s it. I didn’t care to find out whatever backstory she had with some guy involved with the murder victim. Russ… I don’t know. I don’t care.

Writing good, story not interesting. It struck me as YA when it was definitely not YA thanks to mentions of sex. (Also… why all the sex? Pointless to the development of the story.) This seemed more like a character study of uninteresting people framed around the drama of a murder investigation without feeling any shred of suspense about who the killer was.

Leave a Reply

