Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Norse Mythology

(Caidyn)

5/5

So, this is my second time reading it. You can find my full review for it here, which includes full reviews for every story in the book. I decided to just indulge myself and listen to it since I knew that Neil Gaiman would be reading it. Let me tell you, if you haven’t listened to Neil Gaiman narrate his own work, then you haven’t lived. Not only is he a natural storyteller in general, he’s an amazing narrator. You can’t imagine how great it is since he goes all in with accents and voices. It’s fantastic.

Since I’ve already done a full review of this book elsewhere, I’m not going to bore you with the details of every single story in it. Just after my second read, I’ve decided which stories are my favorite to read.

The funniest story is Freya’s Unusual Wedding. It’s a very unusual wedding since no one gets married and, least of all, Freya doesn’t get married in it. I mean, what’s that? What a wrong title. But, seriously, it’s hilarious. I always have to cut myself back on laughing so I don’t look even more like a weirdo than I already do.

The saddest story is The Children of Loki. You might be wondering why if you haven’t heard it. Technically, it’s just a story to show what Loki can create, the chaos and mischief that gets passed onto his children. Doesn’t mean it’s sad. However, one of his children’s stories is sad and gets to me each time. It makes me hate the gods for what they did.

The most poignant story is Ragnarok: The Final Destiny of the Gods. It’s trippy like Revelation in the Bible (which I’m 100% convinced they wrote while high on acid) yet it ends with a beautiful point about how the world keeps turning. Worlds die. Civilizations crumble. Yet the world keeps going. Time continues moving.

The story that shows Loki being Loki best is The Treasures of the Gods. Another good mention is The Master Builder. Basically, every story shows something with Loki since I have a feeling Gaiman loves him, but those two stories really show him at his best/worst… depending on how you look at it.

One thought on “Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

