Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

cover-for-queens-of-geek-by-jen-wilde

“Maybe it’s not just me. Maybe everyone is just as on edge as I am. Maybe they just know how to hide it better – not just from others, but from themselves.” (204)


(Chantel)

Edit 07/11/17: I completely failed to mention that Caidyn bought this for me as a birthday gift, and as a friend and blog partner he knows me well. 

5/5 – I fell in love with this book immediately. This is a novel about three best friends from Australia who go to SupaCon (think Comic-Con), which feature two different perspectives and two love stories. Charlie is a Chinese-Australian YouTuber who is an up- and-coming actress and is openly bisexual. Taylor is her best friend accompanying her and she is plus sized, autistic, and has anxiety. There is so much representation in this book and I even think that Jamie, the third character in this best friend trio is Hispanic but there’s only a slight hint to it. That doesn’t even include Charlie’s love interest Alyssa who is black. Some might disagree, but the overwhelming amount of representation didn’t feel forced. These felt like normal people to me and I could absolutely relate to some of the things both Charlie and Taylor were going through in the book.

There is so much representation in this book and I even think that Jamie, the third character in this best friend trio is Hispanic but there’s only a slight hint to it. That doesn’t even include Charlie’s love interest Alyssa who is black. Some might disagree, but the overwhelming amount of representation didn’t feel forced. These felt like normal people to me and I could absolutely relate to some of the things both Charlie and Taylor were going through in the book.

This book was written for someone like me. By that I mean, I’m a pop culture fanatic and I’m a huge fangirl, just in the last year alone I went to two comic-cons in my hometown and I’m going to another this year. I love the fandom culture and I felt like a convention was the perfect setting for a book.

I also love queer books as has been made clear several times on the blog and in the books, I review, but I felt like this book was more than just “a queer book”. I absolutely think queer characters are important, but the fact that one of the main characters is bisexual isn’t a huge deal. It’s just part of who she is. It was way more about fandom than anything. That being said, I was a sucker for both romances. The building romance between Taylor and Jamie was adorable. Whereas, Charlie and Alyssa’s romance was heated.

Back when I reviewed Every Heart a Doorway, I talked about how important representation was, especially when it’s done right, and how I’d forgotten that. This book just hit that home even more.

I definitely related to Taylor’s social anxiety and conventions are places that have large crowds. That’s overwhelming sometimes and exhausting to navigate. This felt very authentic and that’s because this is own voices when it comes to bisexual, anxiety, and autistic representation. I felt like it was handled very well.

This book tackles issues like biphobia, anxiety, autism, self-esteem, and body image but overall, I felt this was a feel-good book and I haven’t been so happy reading a book all year. It’s not perfect, some might say it’s cheesy or predictable, some of the plot points were too convenient, but I wasn’t concerned with this book’s plot. It was about the characters and how I related to them. This was a very personal book for me.

2 thoughts on “Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Leave a Reply

