The Stone House by A.K. Benedict

The Stone House (A Class Novel)

(Caidyn)

2.5/5

Oh, this book. I checked it out on a whim. I like Doctor Who and this is a book based on the new spin-off series. I just thought: Why not? What’s the worst that could happen? I should have thought more about my relationship with Doctor Who.

  1. I hate what Moffat did to the show. He ruined two shows for me because he ran them, and Doctor Who is one.
  2. I don’t like YA. Class is a show based on a bunch of teens.
  3. I have never seen the show.

I still have no clue who anyone is. And, they’re 14???? So fucking unbelievable. I know. It’s YA, so teens do tons of shit. It’s sci-fi, so there’s no real reason why they couldn’t do it. It’s Doctor Who, so you can’t use logic. Yeah, yeah. But still. I couldn’t suspend my disbelief about it.

The writing also wasn’t that great. It could have been better with some editing. There’s no need to put “so-and-so says” after almost every line of dialogue. Vary it up. Or just keep a flow going without saying who said what. If we know the character’s voice, it should be obvious to us as a reader.

Back to what I originally said, I had no clue who anyone was. There were five main characters, then some random teacher lady who is probably an alien but “watches” after them. Then, the five main characters. There are two girls and three guys. Two of the guys are in a relationship. Charlie and Matthias? I think? Then there’s either Gram or Ram (never could tell what the narrator said for him) who is dating April. Then Tanya who is “lonely” and definitely is supposed to be a love triangle between Gram/Ram and April. Did I get the characters?

This book assumes that you know the show. That you have some idea who these people are, how they’re related, some of their back story. I don’t have that, so I was at a severe disadvantage. I hate books that assume you know because I always feel like I have to do research to understand them. Either explain it all in the book or, like one of my favorite authors does, have a little section of a run-down before the book begins if it’s a sequel.

The whole plot was okay for me. When it’s all said and done, I really didn’t like the first half, which largely focused on the five members of this little group. Their whole teen drama and lingo annoyed the hell out of me. I mean, seriously. I swear there was one line that said something like: “snapchatting of memories”. And then their little drama of finding themselves and not feeling lonely and whatever. I get that it’s important for teens — it is the major conflict in Erikson’s model during the teenage years — but I’m no longer a teen and I don’t like hearing it.

So, I liked the second part better. I loved hearing more about Amira’s past. A Syrian refugee who went through hell to get to England, and then faced even more hell once she was there. Leave out a creepy house that was either haunted or had aliens and it was perfect for me. I would have loved to hear more about her. I also loved Alice, the person who owned the house. Her story broke my heart and I just wanted more. It was so beautifully written and poignant for me. Those were the strong points of the book and, sadly, they took up very little of it.

I’d only recommend it to someone who likes YA and is familiar with the show. (Aka my fellow blogger, Chantel.) It has potential to be a good book, just that I’m not the reader for it, even if I thought I could be.

Leave a Reply

