Phenomena: The Secret History of the U.S. Government’s Investigations into Extrasensory Perception and Psychokenesis by Annie Jacobson

Phenomena: The Secret History of the U.S. Government's Investigations into Extrasensory Perception and Psychokinesis

(Caidyn)

3/5

When I was a kid, I watched a show called Mystery Hunters and I totally wanted to be one. Never heard of it? I don’t blame you. It was a Canadian show on Discovery Kids. They basically took different things and discovered if these mysteries were true or not. One episode I remember vividly was Araya looking into extrasensory perception. He specifically did remote viewing, where he had to guess a location and know things about it. All without ever seeing it before. I don’t remember how he did, just that I found it fascinating.

This book is all about things like that. Remote viewing, implanting thoughts, bending spoons, etc. Think of a Stephen King book and it’s probably in here. Jacobsen looks at these phenomena and how the U.S. government had a huge interest in them. They tested them for decades.

Now, it’s not really a secret. I’m pretty sure that a few people have heard about this. Whatever their opinions are, that’s their thing, but they know about it. Personally, I think that there is some veracity in psychokinesis and extrasensory perception. I think it’s probable that there’s something going on, just based on different anecdotes, research findings, and perhaps your own experiences. We all have had those gut intuitions about things or a sense of deja-vu.

So, I obviously find this topic interesting. (I sure hope so since my senior seminar for psychology is all about intuition.) I’d probably have rated this four stars. However, this only gets three stars because, like the title, this book is too long. Sure, it’s interesting, but there was just too much information and I think that if she had narrowed it down, it would have been better. It’s the same type of information over and over again. There are too many names and people in this for me to keep things straight, especially since this book goes from the 20th century to the 21st century.

Narrowing the focus would have improved my opinion of the book, even if it was full of interesting facts and details.

Leave a Reply

