Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1) by Mark Lawrence

Prince of Thorns cover

(Chantel)

4/5 – I’ve always struggled to get into fantasy because there’s always a lot of detail and world building. However, I love world building and I love when it’s done well. So, I have to ask myself why I resisted fantasy for so long. When fantasy is done well, it’s absolutely engaging and fun. It can just be intimidating when there are series of seven books that are 500+ pages long. Luckily, you can start small and start with specific authors.

Caidyn recommended Mark Lawrence to me, and specifically Prince of Thorns which is the first book of his Broken Empire series. It’s his first series and the first book he’s ever written, and all I can say after finishing it is I can’t wait to read the next book. Even before I’ve finished this series, I can’t wait to read his others.

Now, Caidyn did warn me about the main character of the series, Prince Jorg. To put it simply, he’s a little shit. He’s a horrible human being. He’s a murderer, rapist, and overall despicable person. I did avoid reading the book at first because I was worried. I’m not a huge fan of unlikable characters and anti-heroes. I don’t root for the villains and while I don’t see the world in black and white, things like rape are unforgivable in my eyes. Not everyone is going to like Jorg and honestly, I don’t blame you if you don’t.

However, Jorg is a complex, well-written character, and a charming narrator who just happens to be an awful person. It’s important to remember he’s thirteen years old, which just makes the book that much darker and him more unreliable. He could easily be embellishing the things he’s doing.  He knows he’s a terrible person and he’s unapologetic about it. Throughout the first book, he’s not seeking redemption. In fact, he’s seeking revenge. I am certainly not rooting for Jorg to go around murdering and raping, but I’m curious as to what he’s going to do next and how the series continues.

I don’t think I can really put into words how I feel about such a complex character this soon after I’ve finished the book. All I know is he’s a terrible human being and he knows it. He’ll admit it to your face and probably stab you while doing it.

 

Leave a Reply

