Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah

Born a Crime

(Chantel)

4.5/5 – I became a fan of Trevor Noah through his standup comedy. However, I think that Trevor Noah is delightful no matter what he’s doing, whether it’s standup, The Daily Show, or narrating a collection of stories from his life. It was only fitting that I listen to this on audiobook because I like the way he performs.

Of course, it wasn’t all comedy. Trevor Noah is from South Africa and was born under apartheid to a black mother and a white father which was illegal at that time. The heart of the relationship was the relationship between Trevor and his mother. It reminded me a lot of my own relationship with my mother. He talked about her honestly and talked about decisions he didn’t understand. She wasn’t perfect and he didn’t talk about her like she was, but you knew he loved and respected her. She made him the man he is.

My favorite part of the book was how he integrated South African history into his own story because the two intertwined. In South Africa, he could’ve been taken away from his parents if they’d found out he was mixed, or colored which is what they call biracial people. I didn’t know a lot about South Africa at all, but I know a lot more about it coming from someone who lived there and lived through a huge part of their history.

I’d love to talk about my favorite stories or the passages that made me laugh the most, but honestly go out and read it or listen to it. I’d highly recommend it. It was one of my favorite reads so far this year.

At its core, I saw it as a tribute to his mother and I found that very powerful and moving.

Leave a Reply

