My (Caidyn’s) Birthday!

Well, today’s my birthday! I’m 21 at long last. So, after a nice and rather relaxing day off, I thought I’d share some of the things that I got.

DSCN0003

The first thing I got is a book about the Hindu goddess Kali, from a friend. They actually got it for me months in advance, got it shipped to my house, and then I had to hold onto it, hiding it slightly so I wouldn’t open it too early. I’m so excited to read it!

The next items are a bit of my own nerdiness. Since the fall, I’ve been teaching myself Welsh. A weird language for an American to decide to pick up, but I find it fascinating. I gave myself a wide berth before actually buying different Welsh books. And I finally decided on these two. A dictionary and a practice book.

Those are just gifts that were planned. During the day, my mom took me to Half-Price Books and let me get some.

So, I’ve read American Gods and No god but God. The former is one of my favorite books — and I’m super pumped for the show!! (even though I don’t have Starz). I have a copy of it on my Kindle, but I couldn’t help myself when I saw this edition since HPB never has it and it’s Gaiman’s preferred text.

Aslan is one of my favorite religious studies authors. He’s hilarious and I highly suggest you watch interviews with him, he has an interesting life, and he’s a great writer. I remember this book as being very informative about Islam. So I mainly want to own this just so I can reread it and mark it up.

Athenais: The Life of Louis XIV’s Mistress, the Real Queen of France; Elizabeth and Mary: Cousins, Rivals, Queens; and Tudor Adventures were impulse buys. I couldn’t help myself because they sounded so interesting. Louis XIV isn’t really my time era, I find the dynamics between Elizabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots fascinating, and some sort of voyage in Tudor times just sounds cool

Besides that, I only got chocolate.

DSCN0010DSCN0011

Okay, but it is pretty awesome chocolate, right??

Leave a Reply

