Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

27071490

(Caidyn)

5/5

When I heard about Homegoing, I wasn’t expecting to read it. I don’t enjoy jumping on bandwagons and those things. Not my thing and usually the books come out unsatisfactory.

When I decided to actually read it, I didn’t expect to like it. Maybe I would like it, but it wouldn’t hit me hard.

When I started it, I didn’t think it would get above three or four stars. Four stars tops.

When I got to the end, I had no doubt in my mind that this was a five-star book, that I need to own it, and that I’d be willing to shell out money for a hardcover copy.

This book is the simple story of one family from the 1700s to present day. It starts with a split of mothers, then a split of marriage, and finally a split of fortune. All within this single family. And it’s beautifully written. I highly suggest the audiobook because it’s a story that almost needs to be told to you, not read. It’s melodic and the narrator captures accents beautifully, along with the tone of it all. This story travels through years of strife in a family that was split before the story even began, yet all about coming home. Yet, where is home? And who will be the one to find it? The ending completely choked me up. I had to go to the bathroom for a minute to compose myself. (Working at a warehouse + being male = crying not allowed.)

I’m so glad that I jumped on the bandwagon. It’s definitely a book that you people will either love, hate, or be ambivalent towards, but the most I can compare it to is something like Toni Morrison. Not as violent or confusing, but straight up beautiful.

Have you ever read a book that told such a sweeping generational tale, one that impacted you on every level imaginable? I’d love to hear which ones you guys have read.

Leave a Reply

